How to Choose a Wordpress Theme

Last Update: May 26, 2018

Hi all! I've been here for a month or so now, and I was looking to make my website look better, so started playing around with the appearance of my theme (Herbal lite). I found that I could not make it look like the demo version - it has a nice slider with three rotating images and a feature article on the homepage.

I then realised that I would have to buy the full version of the theme to actually get this option, so I was a bit annoyed to be honest. I didn't realise that you have like a "lite" version where it's really basic, and then you have to pay for the full version to make it look professional.

My website doesn't look too bad, but the homepage is just a list of my posts. It doesn't look great to be honest.

I guess I would like to know what others do in regards to their wordpress themes - in case i'm missing something here - I haven't used wordpress before, just used others like Wix etc.

Thanks for reading!

Michelle :)

Join the Discussion
Write something…
Recent messages
MojalefaR Premium
Hi Michelle. Looks like good answers provided below. I hope you get this right. I have an interest since I am working on my website too.

All the best
Mojalefa.
Reply
Michf1 Premium
Hi Mojalefa - it has taken a while to configure my pro theme, and I've had to contact the developer as I couldn't get some text to appear on the site although it was there on the preview. Hopefully it will be fixed! Eek I had to mess about with coding and everything!

All the best to you with your site too - are you trying to choose a theme also?

Michelle :)
Reply
soozk017 Premium
Hi Michelle,

I understand the frustration with buying the "lite" version. It took me about 3 months to find a theme I was happy with. I bought a couple of "lite" versions that I got my money back on. Every time I added a couple more posts to my website I wouldn't like the one l had chosen. I wanted pics for my website that were already taken by someone else. MY DAUGHTER said go to Google search, type free domain, then what kind of pic I wanted.It took me awhile, but that's what I did. I still made sure I wasn't charged for the pics. I can live with my website now. Some pics I took, others were selected. Here's my site if you want to look https://cook2connect.com I'm not done with training, but feel like my website is done except for some extras.
Reply
Michf1 Premium
Yes it takes a while before you realise that there are basic free versions and much better paid for versions of the same theme. It’s the first time I’ve used WordPress so it was new to me. Thank you for your help - seems like you have a very helpful daughter which is great - I shall definitely have a look at your site.

I’ve just bitten the bullet and gone for a pro theme. I saw that the themes that I liked were basic although they didn’t have “lite” in the title, and didn’t appear how I wanted unless I upgraded to the pro version. I’m happy with the one I’ve got now.

Thank you, and all the best to you and your site :)

Michelle
Reply
BrianCh Premium
Hi Michelle, you mention that you have a theme but it sounds as though you might want to look for an alternative.

If you are just starting out and need some help choosing the correct theme then I want to suggest that you follow the training that Mel has started putting together. It is a 4 part series. Part 1 was posted just a couple of days ago. All the best,

Brian
Reply
Michf1 Premium
Hi Brian thanks I shall take a look!
Michelle :)
Reply
Michf1 Premium
Hi Brian, just wanted to say thank you for pointing me in the direction of Mel’s training. It taught me how to use the feature filter to find what I wanted.

All the best,

Michelle :)
Reply
BrianCh Premium
Hi Michelle, glad that I could help and hope that you find something that you are really happy with. Look out for parts 2 - 4 of his training. Not sure when it will be released.

Brian
Reply
Bald Eagle Premium Plus
I use a free version that has all my post on the home page and it looks fine to me.
I don't think looks are that important unless it is really horrible
Reply
Michf1 Premium
Hi Bald Eagle - thanks for your reply. Mine doesn’t look horrible either but I applied to an affiliate network the other day and they rejected me so I thought maybe it doesn’t look professional enough so started to play around with the theme.

Nice to see that it’s possible to have all the posts on the homepage - I thought I would have to change it around eventually.

Michelle :)
Reply
Bald Eagle Premium Plus
They can reject for a number of reasons.
I've found the most common reason for rejection is "not enough traffic"
Reply
Michf1 Premium
Yes that could be the reason too. Thanks!
Reply
TeamIceCream Premium
Hi Michelle
I am seconding what Lawrence (Bald Eagle) is saying, traffic can be a reason for rejection, as well as not enough posts.
I am also not happy with my Theme, but haven't found one that I can replace it with yet. So my search is ongoing as well.
Wishing you much success!
Sharlee (Chocolate IceCream)
Reply
Michf1 Premium
Hi Sharlene thanks for your comments - I’ve bitten the bullet and upgraded to a pro site as I loved it so much. I’ve found that they have extra functionality vs the lite versions.

It’s probably a mixture of not enough posts and traffic as to why it was rejected, as you both say.

Been fiddling with google analytics today so hopefully got it all correct. A few of my posts and about me page had not been indexed so tried the “fetch as google” tool. One of the newest posts got indexed but not the one from two weeks ago! :D go figure that one out lol.

Thanks for the comment on my site too - much appreciated when you’re just starting out.

All the best to you - great name by the way, ice cream is my favourite dessert :)

Michelle
Reply
TeamIceCream Premium
Hi Michelle

LOL - yes, uncle Google rolls in mysterious ways, doesn't "he"? :-)

You mentioned, the comment - my pleasure. Did you read this post of mine? After you mentioned my comment, I went back to check and I really battled to get that post again Michelle. It looks like not all your posts are linked to the Menu or Categories or blogroll yet. It only shows the "Latest Posts" which is only a few. I eventually found the one that I commented on in the Comments Widget.

I just thought that I would let you know that all your hard work is not showing up, but I assume that it just because you are still busy with the changes. ;-)

Wishing you much success Michelle!
Sharlee (Chocolate IceCream)
Reply
Michf1 Premium
Hi Sharlee! Yes "he" can be a complex and frustrating individual :D

Just read your post - I've downloaded the plugin so i'll have to test it out. It's a great idea as I've often thought about comments ive made and if they've replied back. As you say, you just get bogged down in general "life" lol.

I'm currently configuring all the little sections and extra content I have to put in to fill all the templates in, and it so time consuming! I didn't realise it would be so tricky - they even use code to place images into front page sections, so I've been scratching my head or pulling my hair out even, trying to figure it all out!!!

Do you have a site that I could comment on to return the favour? One good turn deserves another, as they say!

Wishing you all the best,
Michelle :)
Reply
TeamIceCream Premium
Hi Michelle

Thank you for your lovely reply! ;-)

One would think that they would at least make it easier to use their Pro-Themes, considering that one pays for it... but alas...

Thank you for asking about my website... however, all our websites are currently at the "SiteSupport Hospital".

I installed a plugin for GDPR (which was NOT recommended here at WA), but which I thought was a good idea... [roll eyes] but it turned out quite the opposite!

So I am commenting and keeping myself busy, trying not to stress too much about all of that! (But I'm not so sure that it is working either!) LOL! So wish me luck!

May you enjoy a lovely day Michelle!
Sharlee (Chocolate IceCream)
Reply
Michf1 Premium
Oh no! That must be frustrating for you! I hope support can help you out - in fact I’m sure of it. I had an issue once and they sorted it out really quickly.

Good idea to keep yourself busy! Have a lovely day where you are, all the best!

Michelle :)
Reply
TeamIceCream Premium
Hi Michelle

Oh I agree, SiteSupport are SUPER HEROES in my books, but sadly, it looks like I have screwed this one up good and solid.

Messages was fly to SiteSupport and back today, and I am now awaiting their final answer, whether we will have to start rebuilding everything of what will be our fate.

So we live and learn! ;-) We'll eat some ice cream while rethinking the situation... every dark cloud has a silver lining, so who knows, I prefer to think that it will be for the better! ;-) LOL!

Thank you for you kind words - that always help ease the pain! ;-) LOL! (Self-inflicted pain, that is! Damn! I can kick my own behind!)

May you enjoy a stunning day Michelle!
Sharlee (Chocolate IceCream)
Reply
Michf1 Premium
Wow, just by using a plugin - that's scary! Hopefully you'll have good news before the day is out, and yes, eat plenty of ice cream; I always find that helps LOL!

We certainly do live and learn - look at it this way - even if you have to build your site from scratch, you'll do it much quicker this time round :) It might even be better than the first one.


Good luck, and I wish you all the best!

Michelle :)
Reply
Top