Merging Google local page with brand page

Last Update: September 26, 2016

This had been bothering me for a week or so, and really couldn't find how to do it, until today. So if there are other people on here who have the same problem, then don't worry- after this training, it will be sorted out!

So if you have a local google+ page and also a brand google+ page and just want them merged together, then here is how to do it:


1. Verify your Local page if you haven’t already.

This process won’t work if your local page isn’t verified.
Not sure if it’s verified or not?
Navigate to the page and look for a check mark next to your business name. If it isn’t verified, here’s Google’s guide (https://support.google.com/business/answer/2911778...) to verifying your business.

2. Go to your Local page’s settings and scroll down to the Profile section.




The Profile section is all the way at the bottom of the Settings page.

3. Click “Connect to a different page” and select the page you’d like to merge with.


Keep in mind that both pages must be owned by the same account to merge.

4. Confirm the change with Google.



Google will show you a preview of what your new Google+ will look like. It should now be verified and connected to Google Maps and should display data like your reviews, hours, location and contact information.

Voila! Your pages are now merged The old page will remain as a backup but your new page will retain important, irreplaceable data (i.e. your reviews).
Note: it may take a few hours for those reviews to pop up, so don’t panic if they don’t automatically populate.


The page that’s newly connected to Maps will:



  • Display the name and verification badge from the former local page.
  • Display the business information (hours, phone number, etc.) and reviews from the former local page.
  • No longer display photos from the former local page. To add the photos, visit the former local page, download your photos, then upload them to the newly-connected local Google+ page.
  • No longer display prior owner responses to local reviews. Your existing reviews may take a few hours to show up after connecting the page.
  • Retain your page's followers, posts, and managers.
  • Possibly remove ad campaigns associated with the page. To start a new campaign, visit AdWords Express and follow the step-by-step instructions.

The former local page will:

  • No longer display on Google Maps.
  • No longer display local business information or reviews.
  • Be renamed to "Backup of " ."
    Still be visible on Google+.
  • Retain followers, posts, and managers from the former local page.
  • Retain photos from the former local page.
  • No longer display AdWords Express campaigns associated with the page.

And there you go!

I hope it all made sense and was easy to follow for those who may have this issue on their hands.




Join the Discussion
Write something…
Recent messages
drjec Premium
This is all new to me. Thanks for the post.
Reply
Jerem1ah Premium
My pleasure.
Reply
T1967 Premium
Thanks for sharing :-))
Al (and Tania)
Reply
JudeP Premium
Thanks for the share :)
Reply
MPollock Premium
Great training thanks.
Reply
onmyownterms Premium
Awesome share, thanks for posting.
Reply
Jerem1ah Premium
I was so happy finding out how to do it, just wanted to share it with everyone too!
Reply
Top