Okay so I bit the bullet and upgraded my Ryan theme. A few days ago I made a few changes to my site using the new upgraded features, and all was well.

Now I am going back to the customization area to make more changes to my site, but it's telling me I should upgrade to the Pro version to make the changes I want, when obviously I already am Pro.

Why would that happen all of a sudden? Help!!!

Join the Discussion
Write something…
Recent messages
MKearns Premium
Try clearing your cache and ignore betty!
Reply
SurfsideBob Premium
Ignore? On moving forward with site customizations? Please tell me you're kidding Mike! Not trying to be argumentative but that's not very wise advice. Just saying.
Reply
MKearns Premium
Maybe I'm misinterpreting but I got the impression that if you don't upgrade after those actions there would be no problem!
Reply
SurfsideBob Premium
She is saying that after upgrading to premium theme with the company and making changes to her site, that now logging in is receiving a message to upgrade again. Certainly there is a glitch with recognition in the WP Dashboard of the Free vs Pro theme, and proceeding with further site changes without acknowledgment/verification of that upgrade is an unwise move.

She needs to address this prior to theme modification and, as I have recommended to many, establish a Child Theme prior making further modifications. It's a wise move that reduces future heartache/headache and time consumption. Ignoring an issue in a site structure is bad advice. Doesn't matter if you're creating a blog where text can be copied and pasted, as many here do - or if you're creating a true website designed to sell product - as I have.

You simply do not ignore warnings like that without doing your due diligence. Otherwise you will not achieve seccess. See, I have to go in and keep changing that to the incorrect spelling. Ya dig?
Reply
PatsyC Premium
Hi Betty, I would contact the theme developer support so they can look into it.

When you do changes to your website and there is an update with your theme, you can easily lose all of your work!

I ended up adding a child theme to avoid that loss it really helps and only takes a minute to install. Just make sure you look over the child theme before you hit 'publish' to make sure it has what you want. The plugin is called the 'Child Theme Configurator' and it's well worth adding it to save your work.
Reply
DEversley Premium
Try clearing your browser's cache by pressing ctrl + shift + del and proceed from there.

David
Reply
SurfsideBob Premium
Log in to their site and refresh your browser. If you're not updated to their Pro version, contact their support. And honestly, before you start making any customizations, I'd walk through this. It'll save you a lot of trouble moving forward. Peace! :-)
Reply
bmatson12 Premium
Got this done. Thanks so much for the advice!
Reply
guykrow Premium
Hi Bob, I just spent time on your tutorial, EXCELLENT.

Happy Holiday

Guy Krow
Reply
SurfsideBob Premium
My pleasure Betty, you're welcome, peace my friend! :-)
Reply
SurfsideBob Premium
My pleasure Guy, glad you found it helpful! :-)
Reply
Flash4 Premium
I also checked out your tutorial, thank you, very helpful.
Jae
Reply
SurfsideBob Premium
My pleasure, you're welcome! Peace my friend! :-)
Reply
Top