Just modified an earlier version of a post that's been out there for awhile, added some photos, etc. Now I find that the modified version has replaced the original post, but also posted separately! So now, I have two copies of "Vietnam Trip — Part One"
I don't see anywhere on the Content screen to delete a post (in fact, it only shows the one copy! To see both you have to go online to the home website)
What's going on, where do I need to go and how do I fix it?
Thanks, all....
Tim

Join the Discussion
Write something…
Recent messages
judebanks Premium
This happened because in SiteContent we cannot edit a post we have already published.

To edit an old post, we must work directly in the WP editor.

The post duplicated because SiteContent gave it a new URL.

I suggest you copy the updated, edited version into the old URL in your WordPress site, so the URL address stays the same as it has always been. Once you are happy with that, you can delete the second copy you just made in the way the Lee has explained.

If you delete the wrong one by mistake in WP, don't worry. It will go into Trash and you can restore it from there. ~Jude
Reply
JerryMcCoy Premium Plus
Lee gave you the answer that you need.
Jerry
Reply
tobocrs Premium
Thanks for dropping by, Jerry..
Tim
Reply
LeeMcQuay Premium
If you go in to your WordPress dashboard and click on post->all posts-> you should see BOTH of the post that you are referring to. You can delete post there.
However, if you edited the original one and did not duplicate, there should only be 1 post.
Did you happen to update?save and refresh your browser once you made the changes?
Reply
tobocrs Premium
I considered WordPress, but since I know almost nothing about it didn't think long or hard. At your suggestion, though, I'll give it a shot and see what I can accomplish. Thanks!
Update? Firefox? Don't think so, but after a 3 month absence I can't be sure. I'll check that, too
Thanks, Lee!
Tim
Reply
LeeMcQuay Premium
Tim,
By update, I mean did you save the changes?
If you didn't make the changes in WordPress that means you did them in SiteContent then, right?
Reply
tobocrs Premium
Yes, found an empty page when I opened it in in the Content option, saw there were two available revisions and chose one of those to edit, added and modified my photos then hit Restore! That was it, and I found two of them when I went to the website in my browser...
Tim
Reply
LeeMcQuay Premium
Ok, it sounds like you did it a little backwards.
I believe you are to hit restore first and then make the changes.

It sounds like you may have created the duplicate by doing it that way.

I would honestly got in to your WordPress dash board and click on post-> then all posts. It will show you every post you have created.

Look to see if there are in fact 2 of the same post.
If there is you will want to view them in order to know which one you want to delete. There will be a "trash" written in red to the right, if you are IN the actual post.
There will also be the same when you have all of the post pulled up and you hover your mouse over the post. At the bottom you will see edit, quick edit and trash.

Make sure to hit update (saves the changes) when finished.
Reply
Top