This is a question we get fairly often, so I thought I would spend a minute offering some clarity on how hosting works when you cancel.

If you decide to cancel your membership, your hosting will be turned off immediately upon your date in which your premium membership is cut off.

If you want to retain your work, you will either have to resubscribe (which is very simple to do) or you will have to move it to another host WHILE you are an active premium member. You cannot access your website files if you are no longer paying for the premium service.

Upon returning (resubscribing), your websites will be restored. You can restore websites for up to 60 days, beyond that your website will be removed. Most hosting companies will delete inactive accounts within 15-30 days. Our generous 60 day period is unique in the industry and we do this to help people that undergo circumstances out of their control.

Join the Discussion
Write something…
Recent messages
JeanONeill Premium
WA is THE BEST OF THE BEST! The ONLY reason I am cancelling is because I had a stroke 4 days ago.
I Hope YOU ALL THE VERY BEST LIFE HAS TO OFFER EACH and EVERY ONE OF YOU!
Genuinely,
Jean O'Neill
Reply
AlexEvans Premium
Hi Kyle thank you for the clarification, it is good to be up with the play. Very generous when comparing to other hosting.

It will be helpful when helping folks regards, membership cancellation.
Reply
feigner Premium
so does this mean the old method of being able to move or transfer your site ( access to sitedomains ) has now gone
how are ex-members able to get access to the transfer code or to the nameservers to change them after the cutoff date.
is it via the contact page.
many thanks for the update Kyle.
phil
Reply
judebanks Premium
Hello Kyle, what about domain registrations - can those stay with WA Domains if bought through WA or were transferred here from another registrar?
Reply
MoritzS Premium
Yes. Your domains can stay here. You only have to move your hosting to another hosting company if you want to keep your sites online.

To manage your domains, you can still sign in with your WA credentials as normal.
Of course, the only thing you can access then are your domains. If you try to access anything else, you will get a pop-up that says that you need to resubscribe in order to see it.
Reply
judebanks Premium
Thank you, Mortiz. I'm catching up with recent changes. ~Jude
Reply
Triblu Premium
Thank YOU Kyle, for this clarification.

Have now Like'd This and tagged this for sharing in the future, whenever someone asks this question.
Reply
4sbjay Premium
Hi Trish, how do you tag this post for future use?
Reply
Triblu Premium
Hey Sanjia,

Here's a video explaining:
Reply
4sbjay Premium
This is great! Thank you so much!
Reply
Top