Affiliate Nexus Laws (Amazon Affiliates)

Last Update: August 19, 2013

To date a total of thirteen states have passed affiliate nexus laws. Those states include Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Kansas, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Vermont, Ohio and Rhode Island, Maine, Missouri and Minnesota.

If you are currently an affiliate in these states, Amazon will close your affiliate account. They usually provide you warning as to when they will take this action. They will continue to pay you commissions for prior months earned and up through the date they told you your account will be closed.

If you should file as an LLC company in one of the remaining states, you can be reinstated as an affiliate.

Join the Discussion
Write something…
Recent messages
JJCarter1 Premium
Hmm... I'm confused here. I live in California and was approved by the Amazon Affiliate program about 2 months ago - and I've implemented various Amazon banner ads on my web site. Is this something new that's just now going into effect? Any link you can share that explains the details? Thanks.
redheaded1 Premium
America-the land of the free? and definately the home of the brave!
wtbee2013 Premium
Thanks for the heads up...Cali here ; O(
techhound Premium
Amazon still allows affiliates in New York even though New York passed nexus laws here. Amazon stated that there are just too many affiliates to block them from operating. Things could easily change at anytime though.
Success Inc Premium
Hello George,
I counted fifteen states in your post. Just giving you a heads up.
jghwebbrand Premium
Thank you for your response. Yes, there are fifteen states and not thirteen.