I've gotten a Paypal email from service@paypal.com, it was sent to my junk folder. The email was asking me to download the attachment that came with it and fill it out, the attcahment was using software Ive never seen before. The main message of the email was that my paypal account is being limited and I have to download this attachment to get the limitations taken off.

It has all the proper official Paypal logos but why would they be making me fill out info in an attachment and why is there no mention of this when I go to my paypal account. Also why in Junk mail

Below I wil copy and paste the main body of the message to see if any of you ever came across this.

Personal Information Profile

Make sure you enter the information accurately, and according to the formats required.
Fill in all the required fields.

Dear customer ,

As part of our efforts to provide a safe and secure environment for the online community, we regularly screen
account activity. Our review of your account has identified an issue regarding its safe use. We have placed a
restriction on your account as a precaution.

To lift the restriction we will require some further information from you.

If, once we review your further information and we're confident that the use of your account does not present a
safety risk to our service and customers, we'll be happy to reinstate your account.

We have sent you an attachment which contains all the necessary steps in order to restore your account
access. Download and open it in your browser. After we have gathered the necessary information, you will regain
full access to your account.

We thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.


Very sincerely,
PayPal Review Department
Join the Discussion
Write something…
Recent messages
Larry MaC Premium
I get similar from my bank Chase. The logos and all look real and official. Chase security will pursue the spammers if I forward the email to them. I never respond to them or most times wont even open them for fear of a worm. Be safe and cautious my friend.
Wedge910 Premium
I totally agree with gmegs. I always send it to the abuse@(domain.com) address and ask them to disposition it. Then I just ignore it. For example, forward the email to mailto:abuse@paypal.com. Ninety-nine percent of these type emails are phishing/scams.
TheOldSilly Premium
I agree with gmegs. Go right to the source, read up on their own main site about any new announcements, policies, etc., and verify with them if something you got in an email is true or not.
IMc Premium
It's a scam.

It wasn't sent by Paypal. You'll see that the 'reply to' address isn't a real Paypal address. It's an email address the scammers use
gmegs Premium
Never never never reply to anything like that - I get scam email like that. Paypal will never send you anything like that - go to Paypal itself to check things out - you will see things are fine.

Scammers are everywhere!
jasontw111 Premium
Thank you
gmegs Premium
Your welcome !