Hello Friends, I saw somebody put himself as a new user on my website and placed them on the Login page. What can I do to remove him?

Join the Discussion
Write something…
Recent messages
MoniqueRich Premium
Everything is working fine again. Thank you all for your help and support.

I like to write the steps I made to correct this mistake.

1. How to check if your membership button is on?

When you log in and go to Settings and General, you will see a box that says Membership - anyone can register.

The membership buttons should not be clicked!
Otherwise, you are allowing other people access to your site.

2. How to change when there is already a strange person on your log-in side?

Go to your admin, scroll down to users>all. Click on all users - a new page opens showing your users. Now you can Delete the new member account.
Reply
YvonneBray Premium
Fantastic Progress Monique.
Reply
BrightSales Premium
How is that possible friend? W.A. hosting is secure. You might want to check your browser security. Maybe when you logged in from there, someone was able to hack your password. I always log in automatically from the E-mail that I received from W.A. to go to the platform, then I would go to websites tab at the top and log in using the random password given there. I find it more secure that way.
You can go to users in your website dashboard and click on it. There you can edit and delete users.
If you always have been logging in through your website, then after deleting the imposter, change your password right away. Also, make sure your browser has some kind of security to protect you.
All the best!
Reply
MoniqueRich Premium
It wasn't hacking it was Blond in action. I turned on the box that says Membership - anyone can register. This box should not be ticked. I cannot recall ever doing this. Anyway, I hope this was my only chock for a while. Thank you so much for all the help and support.
Reply
BrightSales Premium
That explains why the person was a user as he was able to do so with the allowable registration. If only your site was some social platform, then that would be a reason to select that button so that anyone can sign up.
Then, I really don't think that the person was hacking in as you are now acknowledging it. You will always have full control as the super Administrator if you ever add a user or have them sign up. Just select what they can do or cannot do if you ever need to add a user. All the best!
Reply
Silentsly Premium
Change password right away, using a different device that you normally don't use. Check your computer for a virus and also check the other device for a virus too. If your pc is infected, it most likely has a keylogger, so even if you change it, they will see it.
Reply
MoniqueRich Premium
Ok, thank you so much for this warning, I will change every Password on my other computer. My computer makes funny bussy sounds so I think it is a virus. Great help, thank you so much.
Reply
DianeScorpio Premium
Hi - when you log in and go to Settings and General, you will see a box that says Membership - anyone can register. This box should not be ticked.

Otherwise, you are allowing other people access to your site. Could this be what has happened, rather than being hacked?
Reply
MoniqueRich Premium
I never did such a thing, but I'm gonna check it out. Thank you, Diane. I'll be back!
Reply
MoniqueRich Premium
You are right, this was on, I'll click it off, what can I do to move that guy from my login site?
Reply
1Rudy1 Premium
Go to your admin, scroll down to users>all. Ckick on all users,, new page opens showing your users....Delete their account.

Rudy
Reply
DianeScorpio Premium
Rudy has explained the next step.
Reply
MoniqueRich Premium
OK, Diane, just delete it from my administration! Now that woke me up, thank you so much for your help, I'll hope this never happens again! Now I need a glass of wine! Thank you so much, Diane!
Reply
DianeScorpio Premium
You're welcome. A good lesson for everyone to learn. Enjoy your wine!
Reply
MoniqueRich Premium
Thank you so much, Rudy, I did what you wrote and the new member is gone now. Thank God everything works fine. What do you think, shall I change my passwords?
Reply
1Rudy1 Premium
No, you don't have to..they didn't use your login info, they created a new account.
Now that you have unchecked the add members box, you will not have any more problems.

Rudy
Reply
MoniqueRich Premium
Great thanks Rudy.
Reply
1Rudy1 Premium
Sure, glad it worked out!
Reply
jd500 Premium
Don't drink too much wine. You might accidentally put it back on again
Reply
MoniqueRich Premium
No, you are right, it is already 10 pm, so far too late for wine on Tuesday. I hope this never happens again.
Reply
MoniqueRich Premium
Yes, Diane, this never happens to me again, I'm sure.
Reply
jd500 Premium
Lol, enjoy it!
Reply
baughsten Premium Plus
Yes support immediately...
Reply
Top