If I deactivate image plugin - do images lose optimisation?
I have been having a problem with one of my websites.
I have been trying to optimise page speed scores (I actually started prior to Kyles blog) and installed Smush plugin to optimise the images. Initially this seemed to work well and I was getting scores in 90s for both mobile and desktop.
Then a few days ago the website crashed. I have been in constant contact with site support for 48 hours to resolve it and their final conclusion is that the combination of my theme, Smush and Site Speed set to Extreme was incompatible. If I set it to accelerated it works ok but the page speed scores were awful.
I have now deactivated Smush and set SiteSpeed to Extreme and so far site seems to be ok.
What I want to know is - now that I have deactivated Smush, will it's effects on optimizing my images be lost?
If not - can I just periodically reactivte it - optimize images - and then deactivate again?